Two Love Languages ​​Newest Explained

It’s no surprise to singles that the dating scene is different in 2023 than it was last year. From how singles want to meet other people (real life meet-cutes, please!) to the fact that many singles have more dates than they see physical, dating and – usually has made this year bad dating renaissance. And it didn’t stop there. To better understand the changes surrounding the dating scene in the past year, eharmony surveyed singles and their new insights are making everyone question everything they believe about their love language.

Dr. Gary Chapman #1 New York Times Best Seller, The Five Love Languages: Secrets to Lasting Love, taught us that everyone has different ways of giving and receiving love: Words of affirmation, good times, physical touch, Acts of Service, and Gifts. But inside a recent eharmony survey, the results reveal that “26% of people have changed the way they express love and romantic relationships in the past year while 25% have changed the way they choose to receive love.” Also, it was found that “almost half of the respondents are not sure that the five love languages ​​include the way they express and choose to receive love at all,” according to eharmony.

Enter: two new love languages. With the addition of the Seven Love Languages, and the addition of Shared Experiences and Emotional Intelligence, many people have a better understanding of their unique needs in relationships. So, if you are not familiar with any of the first love languages, you may be waiting for these for a long time. Next, we dive into what they mean and how to tell if Shared Experience or Emotional Security is your love language.

A shared experience

If you think this is like one of the first love languages, Quality Time, you are not wrong, but they are different. Shared experiences focus on “expanding yourself and the person,” according to eharmony, as opposed to showing love by spending quality time together.

People with this love language are eager to create unforgettable experiences as a couple, because that is what makes them feel loved and close to their partner. These experiences can be as exciting as skydiving or it can be as simple as learning a new hobby together like pickleball. With Shared Experience, it’s not about what you do, it’s about, you guessed it, sharing experiences.

Signs that shared experiences may be your love language:

  • You like to plan weekends, trips, or events with your partner.
  • You are looking for something new to do together
  • You choose to leave the house for a date night instead of staying in it
  • Your favorite memories with your partner include things you experienced together
  • You are looking for people who are adventurous or are not afraid to try new things

Emotional security

“Emotions seen and cared for” is how eharmony describes Emotional Safety. Different from seeking approval, approval, or praise as those who practice one of the first love languages, Words of Affirmation, those who practice the emotional love language need to feel like when they take down their walls, their partner will listen. to them and respect their true feelings.

People with this love language just want to be seen, protected and listened to. They are not afraid to be vulnerable and reveal their true selves to others, which is important to those with Emotional Security as their love language and their partner are not afraid to have a conversation. strong.

Signs that emotional security may be your love language:

  • You are not afraid of deep conversations
  • You ask a lot of questions to get to the root of a situation or effect
  • Friends invite you to talk through problems or feelings because they feel comfortable with you
  • You often ask your partner how they really feel about a situation
  • You enjoy the bond that develops from being with another person

Meet the New ‘Love Language’: How Your Desires Affect Your Sex Life